DEV Community

Katie Walkowski
Katie Walkowski

Posted on

An introduction to me!

Hi everyone! My name is Katie Walkowski and I am currently a Senior majoring in Health Policy and Administration as well as minoring in Security and Risk Analysis and Information Sciences and Technology - I like to keep busy! I have overall loved my experience at Penn State and am grateful to have found a major and minor(s) that I am passionate about.

I am from just outside of Pittsburgh, PA. I'm the youngest of three and have two older step siblings who are very close with the rest of my family as well! Family is everything to me and a huge motivator for myself to succeed. I consider myself extremely lucky to have the support of my friends and family to always pursue my goals and dreams.

That mentality has pushed me to always try new things, even if they are scary to me. At the beginning of the pandemic, I was encouraged to sell my art by friends and family which at first was a flat no in my head. I eventually listened to them and opened an Etsy store where I sometimes sell my art to strangers or more often I post on an art account and sell to my friends locally! It has been a very positive experience for me and something that I look forward to doing for myself.

When I'm not creating art and at home in Pittsburgh, I work at a book factory more or less. I found myself working at this strange job to make money during winter break. I worked with books from the Library of Congress and then treated them with specific chemicals in order to prevent them from becoming brittle and ultimately preserving them. At first I genuinely hated this job but now it has turned me into somewhat of a history junkie.

This is how I discovered what I would like to share with you all - Internet Archive. With my major being focused toward healthcare I do not have a lot of background in advanced technology websites but I still think a lot of you would find this website interesting. I was able to find this website with all of my free time :,). I hope you all enjoy discovering more about this website with me!

Link - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YKcrelpTwM&feature=youtu.be

Top comments (0)