DEV Community

Cover image for Sharing is Caring
Tiago Gabriel
Tiago Gabriel

Posted on

Sharing is Caring

First post. Wow! I was not sure that this would happen, at all. I always felt a little reluctant on sharing my experiences, thoughts, ideas, simply because I do not view myself as a mastermind or anything like that.
However, I realized it does not have to be that way! Time and experience taught me that it is desirable to share: this will result in feedback, in useful discussions, in different points of view colliding, which ultimately results in a deeper and more consolidated knowledge 😎

A little bit about myself

My story is kind of "weird", in a good way, I think. From a young age, I was always very curious about the world and things around me. I disassembled toys to see how they worked from the inside, which pissed my dad off; I grabbed my books to build little model houses; I did fine arts; I was into science, literature and mathematics; I was (ahah, "was"... right!) essentially a little geek.
At the age 14, I decided I was going to be a Chemical Engineer, encouraged by a teacher who saw talent for that.
Years passed, and life's circumstances did not allow me to go to the university, which ultimately lead me to work in the manufacturing of cork stoppers (for real!).

Fast forward to 2012, I got into a technical course: Industrial Electronics, Robotics and Automation, hoping to align my industrial career to something I also enjoyed very much: electronics. There, I learned programming! A whole new world opened up in front of me! "This is great! I am a God to this machine!". Driven by that feeling, I took my learning path one step ahead, and in 2014, I jumped into Computer Science and Engineering's degree. It was difficult, especially because I was working at the same time I was studying, but, in the end, it turned out to be an amazing experience.

Meanwhile, 3rd year into the course, and got my first job as a Software Engineer. Since then, I worked with many types of systems, some of them with almost my age (Gen Y, 90s πŸ˜…), different technologies and keep on learning everyday -- which is the reason I started writing.

Why?

The straightforward answer is: getting out of the comfort zone, by sharing my opinions, knowledge acquired from personal experience and from relevant literature of the business (I am an avid reader πŸ“š).
Being an introverted type of person, this exposure allows me to "digest" my thoughts and mold them into something tangible, something that I think it can bring value to other people. Also, it is a huge help on bringing my career forward, of course. Last, but not least, I have a feeling that writing these posts will also improve the way I write code.

What will be shared?

Everything! Of course, depends on the context. Do I really mean everything? Well, everything that can be related to the software development field, yes! If you also want to know about the manufacturing of cork stoppers, I can also share that! ahah

Most of the content will focus on eXtreme Programming, Legacy Code, Evolutionary Design, Refactoring, Test-Driven Development (TDD), Lean Development, Continuous Delivery, Concurrent Programming, etc. I am mostly interested in presenting a more analytical view of these several topics, but I will also strive to show some practical examples, when relevant.

Let the fun begin

This post marks the starting point of this sharing path. Sharing is caring, for all developers out there, and for myself as well. I am in the baby steps phase, therefore I will try to post new content every month, while starting up. With time, I will adapt to what fits best for me and the community.

Feel free to read, to criticize (constructively, please), to share ideas and suggestions, and to reach me out through here, LinkedIn or Twitter.

NΓ£o percam o prΓ³ximo post, porque eu tambΓ©m nΓ£o

Top comments (0)