DEV Community

Melissa Bennett-Holt
Melissa Bennett-Holt

Posted on

What in the CWverse?

I'd heard from others that the JavaScript project, and indeed, JavaScript itself was the most challenging part of the Flatiron curriculum, and now I truly believe it.

Aside from the challenges that arise when learning a new language and learning how to get that language to display what you know you can create in your head, it has been an extraordinarily tough year. Getting this far for me has been a hard-fought battle, and I can only keep looking towards the finish line and what the future has in store.

This project was both familiar to me in terms of using Rails as the backend and implementing some similar setups, and completely new in learning how to dynamically make changes to a web page.

The challenges that I faced:

  • Getting familiar and comfortable writing with a new syntax
  • Working on this project in the midst of a COVID outbreak at work and its lasting effects
  • Understanding how the backend and frontend talk to each other
  • Rendering things outside of a static index.html

Top comments (0)