DEV Community

Alok Kumar
Alok Kumar

Posted on

How #100DaysOfCode Changed My Coding Life 🙌

" We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit " - Aristotle

Hello Everyone 👋👋👋

Today I'm going to share my experience of my first round of #100DaysOfCode and how it completely changed my coding life.

I remember a few months back how I was struggling to start my web development journey and I used to start a course and then leave it after a few days. Sometimes when the course started to seem difficult or due to the pressure of my academics or even sometimes simply if used to get bored. And my coding journey was just somehow going.

Then in the month of March, I started using Twitter and there I found #100DaysOfCode. I saw journeys of many people and got inspired and thought of giving it a try.

It's basically that you have to do some coding every day according to your convenience and then you have to tweet about your day learning for 100 days.

So I started fresh. Picked up a course and sticked to it. After that, I started tweeting daily about my journey. And in the process, I met some wonderful people of the #100DaysOfCode community. They are totally awesome.

People started to appreciate my works ( I can't forget to mention bots 😉). People also started to follow me too. And that was a kind of appreciation too that people are liking my works that I'm putting out there.

These practices opened new dimensions for me, I started writing blogs, articles, poems. I also started to include these in my daily progress ( and also pics of foods I cooked 😅 ). And people appreciated those too. But I felt happier when people started to ask questions and for guidance sometimes and I was excited to help them. It is an awesome feeling to give something back to the community.

Also, you'll get to know some awesome devs there who are always tweeting about recent developments, tips, resources, experiences, and stuffs related to tech, which may help you a lot. They may also help you with your questions and problems. There are also some cool people out there who have the same interests as yours with whom you can pair up and continue your journey. And pair programming is proved to be more efficient.

But there were also some days when it was impossible for me to code and I took a break sometimes. And I think it's okay to take a break sometimes if you don't feel like coding until you don't quit. Most important is that you don't quit and continue with your journey.

Here's a list of some achievements of mine in the first round of #100DaysOfCode :

Achievements in #100DaysOfCode

Apart from these, I made many good friends ( also 250+ connections 🙂 ).

I will definitely recommend this to any new beginner for starting their journey. Also, it is a good practice for all the devs. And I'm also too much excited to start my second round of #100DaysOfCode.


Thanks for reading 🙏

Say HI 👋👋👋

Happy Coding 💻

Top comments (0)