DEV Community

Latricia Nickelberry
Latricia Nickelberry

Posted on

The power of the command line

I started studying the command line this week, simply because I got stuck on an error while building out a project. I reached out to the community and the person that helped had me use commands like ls -alF as an example. I asked myself what does that mean?

Opened up my eyes to how powerful the command line is
This lead me to asking the person that helped me if he could provide me with resources about the command line. I got sent an article to read. You can checkout the article [here] this article was very helpful.(https://ubuntu.com/tutorials/command-line-for-beginners#1-overview)
This made me realize that understanding these basic commands are very useful:

-pwd
-ls
-cd

This is just the tip of the iceberg. You are able to delete files, delete directories, move files etc. The process when using the command line is so much quicker than doing it through the GUI.

I challenge anyone who have been putting it off to learning the command line, take baby steps you will not regret it later on.

Happy coding.

Top comments (0)