DEV Community

tux0r
tux0r

Posted on

Things that have been happening to me too often lately

  • I am denied read-only access to some websites because I use a VPN. This makes no sense at all, but it happens anyway.
  • I am not allowed to register in some forums because I use a VPN. Because everyone knows that anyone who uses a VPN is a serious criminal. There is no other option.
  • I am subsequently banned from forums because the moderators realise that my IP address is not unique because I use a VPN. My posts don't matter at all, IP addresses obviously unambiguously identify every person on this planet.
  • I'm supposed to confirm that I'm not a robot because I use a VPN. The fact that the company asking for these confirmations (usually Google) is itself sending robots marauding through the internet doesn't matter, because Google is Google and I'm just a bloke with a VPN.

Guys, a VPN is self-defence. A website banning VPNs is like a brothel banning condoms. I mean, of course the house rules apply, but I'd like to see a bit more judgement. What's happening right now is ridiculous and hardly does justice to the security aspect of these "tests". If you find yourself as a contributor to this list, I urge you to stop. I am not a bad guy. All I do is use a VPN.

Thank you.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
htho profile image
Hauke T. • Edited

A website banning VPNs is like a brothel banning condoms.

LMAO - Thank you! You've made my day.

But seriously this is annyoing. Still I can see how each of these measures comes from Devs who just want to protect their Product from Spammers.
There are better, more inclusive approaches - But this one is very efficient.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Every time I use something like Netflix and it tells me there's something wrong because I'm on a VPN, I report it to them as a bug.