DEV Community

Umar Tahir
Umar Tahir

Posted on • Updated on

100 days of Golang

Welcome to my #100daysofcode Golang challenge:

Image description

Hi, for the next 100 days I will be programming in Golang for at least one hour every day. I have decided to make this a public commitment. And you should join me for an amazing ride together.

To track my progress, fork this repo:
https://github.com/Umartahir93/100-days-of-golang

I will create a feature branch daily and commit my changes daily which will be merged into the master.

WHY 100 DAYS CHALLENGE FOR GOLANG

I really want to become a better GOlang developer. In recent years I have been programming in Java and occasionally in C++. But there are always new challenges in professional life. And for me the next exciting challenge is to learn GO.

I've found that my after-work time always follows a pattern of watching something on television or elsewhere rather than programming. Like all of us who are living alone, I have some things to do: housekeeping, cooking food, washing dishes, etc.

All of these will still be there. What I don't plan to do is what I would call "passive relaxation time." That's when I sit down to watch something and my time is wasted every night.

It's easy to look at, but hard to stop. For things that are worthwhile, I find the opposite to be true: it's hard to start, but very easy to keep going. So with this challenge, I'm going to make sure I start (sit down to code) every day no matter what.

Rules:

  1. I will tweet about my progress every day using the hashtag #100DaysOfCode.

  2. I will push code to GitHub every day so that anyone can see my progress. If you want, you can follow me here.

  3. The extra time spent doing tutorials, online courses and other similar resources will NOT count towards this challenge.

  4. I will keep adding reference to materials I learnt in the Read.md of GitHub repo.

Top comments (0)