DEV Community

uniqueregina666
uniqueregina666

Posted on

Nevertheless, uniqueregina666 Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I enrolled in Rutgers Coding Boot Camp because I felt this was the best way to start my journey of changing careers. I was an Early Childhood Educator with an Undergraduate degree in Early Childhood Education and a Master’s Degree in Elementary Education. I spent over 10 years in the classroom and loved it! Unfortunately, in 2011 I was diagnosed with a disability that over time has been greatly affected by my career in education. The doctors and I decided, it was time for a change. I needed to start over, and this time I had to make sure that it not only would not affect me physically, but also have a positive impact mentally. I had been “destined” to be an educator since High School and never really thought about anything else as a career path. So, I thought about all the things I enjoyed doing in the past. I truly enjoy working with technology, especially with web development. I had spent much of my free time during the “AOL and Myspace Craze” coding HTML and CSS for my profile as well as others. It was something I took pride in, I made something. Granted, it was a lot of copying and pasting but, I lived for it. I felt challenged when coding and felt a rush of happiness when I completed some code and hit the refresh button. Wow! It worked!
Fast forward to now, where Myspace is long gone, but HTML and CSS still exist, and that rush of happiness still happens every time I hit the refresh button. Coding is giving me the chance to not only do something I enjoy, but also allows me to work around my disability. I can make my own hours, work on projects that I will enjoy and or make an impact in the technological community. Finally, and most important, coding allows me to be a functioning member of society and contribute despite my disability.
I became a teacher because I wanted to make a difference in my community. I wanted to give back to a system that gave me the power to be where I am today. That dream still lives, I will still make a difference, and be a role model for others. By the knowledge and skills, I obtain while learning to code, I can apply it towards some new educational applications. Possibly work for a company that will set the new standards for how information is taught to students. The possibilities are endless when you obtain the right skills and knowledge for working with anything. I didn’t have a role model in this field, but I guarantee, in the future, I will be one for someone else.
If you are looking for a change, a challenge, or a new start, for any reason what so ever, this may be it for you! The skills you will obtain here are invaluable in the workplace and in life itself. Perseverance, discipline, growth mindset, and camaraderie are some of the character building traits you will develop during your time learning to code. You just need to have an open mind, and the willingness to make a change.

Regina Mireau

Top comments (0)