DEV Community

Cover image for Sony WH-1000XM3 The Review From The Perspective Of A Software Engineer
Valerio Emanuele
Valerio Emanuele

Posted on

Sony WH-1000XM3 The Review From The Perspective Of A Software Engineer

I use the Sony WH-1000XM3 since about a couple of months ago, and they are the best purchase that I'd ever done concerning my work as a Software Engineer. Before going into detail, I want to make a premise. This review aims to evaluate what impact this tool has on daily work and not to evaluate technical aspects such as sound quality or noise cancellation.

What they do

I use them by activating only the cancellation of the noise, therefore without listening to music, and the difference is remarkable - especially when I work in open space environments. Many background noises go away like the voice of other colleagues who are talking, or the noise of the air conditioner, the cleaning lady that passes the vacuum cleaner, and many other small noises. The advantages are manifold because I can concentrate much more quickly since different sources of distraction get reduced. As a result, the mind works under less stress, and productivity increases. From my point of view, every IT company should include them in its welcome pack for every employee they hire.

How do they do it

The headphones must be connected via Bluetooth to your smartphone or laptop. As for the smartphone, you need to download an app that allows you to manage many parameters.

The battery recharges quite easily via USB Type-C and lasts a long time. I forgot the last time I recharged it, maybe two weeks ago. You can check the battery status either via the app or via a headset button. In the latter case, an artificial voice informs about the remaining battery life.

Limitations

This product does not entirely isolate from any noise: louder noises, such as someone speaking loudly or an alarm, are reduced but not ultimately canceled. They lend themselves perfectly when there is a solo activity to be performed while, in my opinion, they are not suitable if you work in pair-programming or if you have meetings (even if you can set them up so that they only delete the ambient sounds and not the voice).

Comfort

They can be held for a whole day without feeling the slightest nuisance. If it is hot, sweating can annoy you, but usually, these are sporadic events because usually we Software Engineers work in air-conditioned environments. They are also wireless, so we have full freedom of movement.

Extra Bonus

You can talk on the phone without removing the Sony WH-1000XM3. Furthermore, they can read the notifications that are sent by all the apps installed on the phone. They can interface with Alexa, but I haven't tested this functionality. A final important aspect, from my point of view, is custody. The Sony WH-1000XM3 can be folded and come in a comfortable compact case that fits all medium-sized backpacks.

Alt Text

If you liked this review, share it and add me Facebook or Linkedin.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jishen73 profile image
John Shen

I really enjoy my WH1000XM3s as well. I have worn them while binge watching TV series without getting fatigued much, if at all. Another thing that comes in handy is if you pair them to your work computer, they double as a headset so you can use Skype, or GotoMeeting or other collaboration apps. Very handy.

Collapse
 
valerioemanuele profile image
Valerio Emanuele

Hi John,
I totally agree with you. Nice to know it.

Collapse
 
tomekbuszewski profile image
Tomek Buszewski

Hey, did you find the microphone a bit lacking? I have those and I am really having problems using them on calls.

Collapse
 
sanchezdav profile image
David Sanchez

Yes, sometimes I have to reconnect them because the mic has an issue :(

Collapse
 
valerioemanuele profile image
Valerio Emanuele

Me no, the only issue is that sometimes I'm not able to regulate properly the volume of my voice :D