DEV Community

Waldy
Waldy

Posted on

Day 2 of journey to be software engineer

At the second day, I have just simply initialize my Frontend with stack as Vite + React + TypeScript + Tailwindcss, with some extra thing such as Absolute Path.

I have done React with JS before but this first time changing to TS, my first impression on it is the tsconfig.json and its friend, tsconfig.node.json and tsconfig.app.json, those have such plenty thing need to manually config that I have no idea about in order for thing to work

After taking times to deal with those ts and vite config, I simple install react-router-dom and start with the Homepage of the website, but not so far, I have only done the Header components with Notification button in it to display notifies, at that I realise I should start initializing my Backend with Database. So that I push the project into git and make a small research in Database.

In my previous project, I did use MongoDB and it actually fit well with me but this time I want to get out of my comfort zone, so I used random picker and picked postgreSQL. Hop in to the download page and download right away.

First time switching from NoSQL to SQL and such a weird SQL that use type instead of table like postgreSQL, this really coming handy.

After installing postgreSQL and pgAdmin, I closed my PC and called it a day.

Althought for jobseeker website with no extra function, managing with NoSQL database will be faster and easier but I think I did a right choice when stepping out of my comfort zone.

If you guys love my post, don't forget to leave a comment, I really appriciate that!

Top comments (0)