DEV Community

Wallism
Wallism

Posted on

Azure App Configuration task - An unexpected error occurred

In Azure DevOps, using the task, "Azure App Configuration Push", I hit the rather obscure error, "An unexpected error occurred".

First step to dig into this is to edit the release, adding the following debug variable -> system.debug set the value to true. Then re-run and you do get more detail about what actually went wrong. Looking through the log I can now see:

[debug]{"name":"RestError","statusCode":403

There is much more detail but that is all that was enough for me, following these instructions I knew I hadn't given my service principal the "App Configuration Data Owner" role in my Azure App Configuration instance. Once the role was added, the task ran successfully.

Top comments (0)