DEV Community

Wynderrr
Wynderrr

Posted on

Help Me With Ubuntu Terminal...

Hi Guys, I need help with this.

So I am learning blockchain development by myself,
I am following a video tutorial about creating an ethereum wallet.
In this video tutorial the application which I used is windows terminal, running ubuntu and using truffle framework.
In the middle of the video, the instructor suddenly opens a tab on the left side (as you can see from the photo below), without giving any explanation about how to open the tab. I heard him pressing his keyboard and suddenly the tab on the left just popped up in a split second. So, I was assuming that he was using the shortcut key to open that tab. And also I already search on Windows Terminal settings and I can't find the shortcut key he used to open the tab, even more I tried it one by one, I mean all of the shortcut keys that I can find in Windows Terminal Settings. And I already googled about it and I can't find any answers related to it.

I know this is a silly thing, because I understand it just a basic thing in how to operate windows terminal. But since, I am self-learning about Blockchain development and I am just following the tutorial video. So, I am stuck in this step.

I really need to know, How to open this tab, it would be a major help to me if you guys can tell me how to open the tab, Thanks in advance.

Note:
Video Tutorial source: Eat The Blocks, 6-Figures Blockchain Developer
Instructor: Julien Klepatch
Image description

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
gilfewster profile image
Gil Fewster

This looks like the nerdtree plugin for vim/Neo in text editor.

Collapse
 
wynderrr profile image
Wynderrr

Hi Gil

Thanks for replying
Can you maybe access the tab without the plugins Or, do you have to install/use the plugin If so, What should I look up on google Or Maybe you could tell me?

Sorry for late respond*
Thanks in advance.

Collapse
 
gilfewster profile image
Gil Fewster

It’s a plug-in for a terminal-based text editor called NeoVim. You can find out more about Neo I’m on their website neovim.io/

Hope that helps.

Thread Thread
 
wynderrr profile image
Wynderrr

okay ill download neovim and try to use the nerd tree plugin