DEV Community

Cover image for Lab9 Continuous Integration Pipelines and Test Automation
Jason
Jason

Posted on

Lab9 Continuous Integration Pipelines and Test Automation

This week I focused on managing project complexity through the use of Continuous Integration Pipelines and Test Automation. CI is a method whereby we build and run our tests automatically whenever anything is pushed to the repo, or a new pull request is made.

How to create a GitHub Actions Workflow

The video Running Tests through CI is very help and I followed the steps to create my first GitHub Actions Workflow. GitHub provides its own CL service called GitHub Action and we just need to click "Actions" tab. I choose the Python - Anacondas template into my project. Then I follow the instruction to configure the python-package-conda.yml file. Most of items are auto generated, only apart of them need to edit. For example, add the push and pull request action, and also edit the install dependencies.
Image description

Create a Pull Request to Test my CI

I create a new branch named lab9, and add a new file named test_md_txt_title.py. After all function passed, I push the branch to the remote and pull a new PR. After GitHub Action passed the PR, I merged it.
Image description

Add Tests to Partner Project

According to my parter's issue, I create a new test file named. I pull a new PR, the partner's Actions passed it.
Image description
Before that, I found that many projects have the function of automatic error checking. I wonder how to do it. After lab9, I also created my own GitHub actions. I'm very excited.

Top comments (0)