DEV Community

Cover image for Why Software Engineering?
Yonatan Kawo
Yonatan Kawo

Posted on • Updated on

Why Software Engineering?

I'm a systems engineer with a background in electrical engineering. You may be aware of that systems engineers are typically work as part of multidisciplinary teams; the great majority of Systems Engineers collaborate closely with a Software Engineer. So, how can we communicate if we don't speak the same language (programming)?

Speaking of languages, I can speak three, English and two others.  I've been asked how I acquired various languages, and my answer is always the same: you don't learn languages in school or via instruction; you learn from the community through engagement.

Now, as a member of engineering community, I've decided to learn software engineering so that I can communicate in their language. We can bridge the skill gap between the two engineering desciplines by speaking the same language.

Top comments (0)