DEV Community

Cover image for How to install Flutter on a MacBook
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

Posted on

How to install Flutter on a MacBook

I'm going to use Flutter for the first time and dive into the world of mobile development 📱.

(As usual) I had some issues installing Flutter on my MacBook 🙄. So I reset my MacBook, which was long overdue, and set up the technical environment from scratch, using the package manager from the beginning.

And I'm glad I did. Finally the installations are running smooth as butter 🧈.

Environment

Device Chip Operation System CommandLine Tool
MacBook Air Apple M1 macOS Sonoma 14.1.2 HomeBrew

Installation process

After installing Flutter, by running the command

brew install --cask flutter,

everything worked smoothly. I then run

flutter doctor,

which provided instruction on how to move further.

Console output showing instructions on how to install flutter

Here are the commands I ran:

  • sudo softwareupdate --install-rosetta --agree-to-license

  • brew install --cask android-studio

  • sudo xcode-select --switch /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer

  • sudo xcodebuild -runFirstLaunch

  • brew install cocoapods

  • xcodebuild -downloadPlatform iOS

  • path/to/sdkmanager --install "cmdline-tools;latest"

  • flutter doctor --android-licenses

  • flutter config --android-sdk

Now, when running flutter doctor again, everything is setup.

Successful installation of Flutter.

Tip 💡: In case you have problems with Android toolchain - develop for Android devices and the error cmdline-tools component is missing, check out my article about Android cmdline tools component is missing - Flutter Installation


Thanks for your reading and time. I really appreciate it.

Top comments (0)