DEV Community

Yuval Steuer
Yuval Steuer

Posted on

Hacking Podcasting: a Developer Hacking Content Repurposing for my Company

Hi my name is Yuval, sw dev :)

I work for a corporation and am friends with people from our marketing department, I chatted with one of our social media personas and realized we were sitting on a potential gold mine - hours of podcast videos gathering dust. We were doing it wrong, I realized. We were producing great content but failing to deliver it in a form that was digestible to our busy listeners. Although we wanted to edit it down to podcast clips. But with the massive amount of content, the task was close to impossible. Until the AI hype induced dev in me whispered, "Why not build an AI to do it?"
Image description

The Dawn of the Idea: Build a Podcast Content Repurposing
tool, We were making art, but our listeners were time-starved. They needed snack-sized content, something they could consume on the go. Podcast clips were the answer - punchy, focused, and easy to digest. But carving out these clips from the monumental pile of podcast videos was another story. It was time-consuming and mind-bogglingly manual.

That's when I thought - what if we could create an AI tool to automate this?

My First Code: With my superiors' approval, I started developing an AI tool that could efficiently slice podcast videos into sharp, engaging podcast clips. a few ChatGPT API calls later I had working code pick out the meaty bits from our podcast videos, trimming the fat and serving up tasty content pieces.

The outcome? An AI tool capable of gulping down lengthy podcast videos and spitting out shareable podcast clips, with minimum human intervention.

From the Developer's Den to the Market: Software at Its Finest
After successfully implementing the tool within our podcast studio, an ambitious thought popped up. With the green light from my supervisors, I decided to pack up this AI wizard into a neat software package.

As a developer, it's a proud moment for me to have built something that solves a problem. And this is just the beginning.

Hacking together code and crafting an AI tool landscape was a journey I'll never forget. We went from an in-house tool to a successful software product that has now become the industry standard. AI-driven podcast video repurposing is here, and it's not going anywhere.

Keep an eye on this space for more exciting updates from my programming adventures. And hey, if you want to geek out about AI, podcasting, or both, hit me up!

Also, I've recently got permission from our legal department to release it as a commercial product, so here it is:
https://chopshopai.com

I'm just in love rn with:
podcast clips, podcast video repurposing, podcast repurposing

Top comments (0)