DEV Community

Zak Hargreaves
Zak Hargreaves

Posted on • Originally published at hrgs.dev

Welcome into the world of my brain blog!

I’m not really sure how I start this first blog, or the given title for my first blog into the technical world - I didn’t want this to be called ‘my first blog’ but here we are...

How I started my technology journey

This is a strange one, I started my technical journey back in 2008 when I left high school, I have to admit, I didn’t perform the best, but my story gets better! I decided to start my career with an apprenticeship in IT, the fact of I didn’t want to be stuck in a classroom for the next couple of years of my life didn’t appeal to me; I took this opportunity at a local secondary school where I learned the basics of client needs and business goals.

Skip forward 10 years and I’m now working as a Senior DevOps Engineer at Flutter Entertainment (originally Pokerstars, but now within the International Sports Division) where I’m placed within a software team on a greenfield project, I started with a Platform Team but soon exhausted my boundaries with that team. I cannot believe how fast I have matured, learned, failed, and matured over the past years to get into this position - I finally feel like it’s my time to share my stories, struggles, hints and tips, guides, Dev & Ops challenges along with other tech related things. I’m hoping I can share real-world examples to technology rather than those ‘here is a basic setup + example config’ guides you see scattered around the web - Still, watch this space!

Top comments (0)