DEV Community

Lorenzo G. Bergamasco
Lorenzo G. Bergamasco

Posted on

Searching for an HUD app

I did try to develop myself an app as following described, but my capabilities and experience are too poor to achieve it.
So I am looking for anybody capable to develop such app or maybe have already developed it.

APP REQUIREMENTS:
The overlay shoud include the typical information of an aeronautical HUD, such Speed (in knots), Altitude (in feet), Attitude (Horizon inclinometer and pitch, in degrees), heading (magnetic and/or GPS), and variometer (trend in climbing or diving, in feet per minutes).
A "G" meter (-5 / +5 G) will be an interesting option, shown as a gauge.
The HUD data color should be selectable between green, magenta, white, black, and cyan with a button on the main screen (cycling colors).
A start-stop recording button must be available on the main view.
I am aware that, due to the inclinometer sensors of the phone, the attitude indication will be unreal during the flight, due to the "G" vector, but this is a well known limitation of a non-aeronautical-certified instrument.
The data reading shown on the overlay, must be integrated by 0.3 / 0.5 seconds, to smooth the reading during a turbolent flight.
The main matter is to get the video recording smooth.

FRAMEWORK:
For my own personal needs, the app have to work on a Samsung Galaxy S21 or grater.
Bit I think it will be a good idea to use Android 13.0 Pixel5 API33, to reach a larger pool of potential customers.

NOTES:
In my previous experience the recorded video was not smooth, so whoever wants to develop such app, has to take care of this problem.
An example of what I have tried before, is shown on this video on YouTube (statring from 2:35): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umcnGPCdNik#t=2m35s

You may contact me by email shown in my profile.
Thanks.

Top comments (0)