DEV Community

Ian
Ian

Posted on

What note taking apps do you use?

I've been looking for a note taking app that supports speech to text along with notes and lists.

What are you currently using?

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
asherirving profile image
Asher Irving

I'm a sad person who just uses the "Notes" app from macOS.

Collapse
 
1e4_ profile image
Ian

What do you do for when you are on the fly?

Collapse
 
asherirving profile image
Asher Irving

Send emails to myself in Gmail.
I know, it's pretty lame.

Thread Thread
 
1e4_ profile image
Ian

Not something I expected to here haha

Collapse
 
190245 profile image
Dave

I use a markdown editor (Typora) when at the laptop, otherwise just email notes to myself (and have a mail rule setup for it).

I am seriously thinking about buying a Remarkable2 though, no product endorsement, I've just seen their V1 in the flesh & love the idea. Main struggle at the moment is being able to justify the cost based on my workflow...

Collapse
 
1e4_ profile image
Ian

Markdown is great. Personally I dislike writing it on mobile though. I'll take a look at remarkable, thanks

Collapse
 
jozsefsallai profile image
József Sallai

Notion! It has cool sharing options, Kanban boards, and lots of cool templates to choose from.

Collapse
 
1e4_ profile image
Ian

Notion looks quite impressive!

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

OneNote

Collapse
 
ninjateam profile image
Ninja Team

Tried to find good alternatives to Evernote yet no success so far.

Collapse
 
fossheim profile image
Sarah • Edited

Notion! I used Evernote for several years, but made the switch to Notion a while ago and I can't imagine going back to anything else.

Edit: Sorry, I spoke too soon. Read the title and the responses but didn't notice the "speech to text" part; never tried that in Evernote or Notion, so I'm not sure how they compare on that front 😬

Collapse
 
1e4_ profile image
Ian

Evernote looks good. Why are you looking for alternative? Did you have problems?

Collapse
 
nearprotocol profile image
NEAR

notion.so/ and roamresearch.com/ are pretty nice :)

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Roam is pretty neat, but I don't like it being an online system. Fortunately, there's an Emacs org-roam extension (that I am porting to VS Code!). Notion really disappointed me with their refusal to prioritize an API, which has been at the top of the product map for years, so right now I am using Inkdrop for all my Markdown notes. I would love to go Org-mode full-time, but I need more practice with it.

Collapse
 
lajtovo profile image
Katarzyna Kokosza

I need something simple with visible project structure and so on...
so I am using Atom!

I tried to use Notion / Evernote but it's too heavy for me

Collapse
 
saviour123 profile image
Saviour Gidi

Gedit on Linux and SublimeText on Mac.