DEV Community

Grace Gong
Grace Gong

Posted on

Google IO Extended 2023: Event, Updates and Ressources

I had the opportunity to host a Google IO Extended 2023 event where I marketed, and presented the material in collaboration with 3 GDSC’s members. We had 70 attendees and are gratful for the turnout for our event. Today I will be summarizing the key info that you can use to get started to learn more about the latest updates and ressources.

To get started, Ill provide an overview of Google IO Extended.

Google I/O Extended is the community led counterpart to Google I/O, our annual Google led conference where the world hears about Google’s latest developer solutions, products, and technology.

Google I/O Extended is a series of community led tech meetups, that bring the knowledge and excitement of Google I/O to developers on a city level, all around the globe.

Technologies
Dive deeper into the new Google developer products. Google I/O extended meetups will bring developer content announced to life locally — technical talks, Q&A sessions, Google Developer Experts presentations, discussions with local tech enthusiasts.

How does it work?
Register
Check for upcoming Google I/O Extended events below and RSVP to an event that you are interested in.

Join
Attend Google I/O Extended Watch Party or Meetup.

Learn
Learn about the latest Google products from Google Experts and local developers in your community.

You can find the events here: https://gdg.community.dev/ioextended/

and see the summary of Google IO 2023 here: https://io.google/2023/

I had the opoportunity to attend Google IO 2023 and have made an article post as well with the experience.

If you have any questions feel free to post them in the comments below!

For my event, I had the opportunity to share with the group the various products and features in the topics of Mobile, Web, AI and Cloud. I shared some of the links, including the articles and areas where people could sample or demo the technologies. Afterwards, we gave everyone some time to go into the links and check out the demos and tools for themselves, followed by a Q&A. During the Q&A I shared how students could get involved with GDSC in the upcoming year, and addressed any issues about how they can potentially learn in the platform.

I hosted this concurrently as a Cloud Study Jam, so that participants could instantly get access to learning modules to kickstart their learning journey.

If you are interested in organizing an event or being an organizer, feel free to let me know in the comments any questions you may have and I can do my best to answer!

Image description

Top comments (0)