DEV Community

Grace Gong
Grace Gong

Posted on

My GDSC (Google Developer Student) Lead/President Experience 2022–2023

As the GDSC (Google Developer Student) Lead/President for 2022–2023 at Western University, it has been both an honor and a privilege to have been able to host and organize technical, personal and career development events across campus and virtually to a global audience of individuals, who share the same motivations to learn something new.

Being able to organize events and learning from other GDSC leads, as well as learning and developing my own leadership skills has been a crucial component to my development thus far, and I would highly recommend applying to be a GDSC lead at your campus or starting your own chapter. More details to come soon!

As I reflect on the end of year, here are some things I am proud of:

increasing membership from 100 to 400 students
starting the social media from scratch, reaching 1260 followers and increasing engagement of events by 10x compared to the previous 3 years
balancing a full time course load, my extracurricular / leadership and work
Some pictures from my events I have hosted at Western:

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

Organized a Women Techmakers x Western Women in Computer Science x GDSC Virtual + In person Event! These are some of our members. We had over 70 attendees!

Women Techmakers International Womens Day Event & Ivey Hacks Keynote with Machine Learning TPM, Ada Ma!

Google Cloud platform Workshop at Maple Hacks

Flutter Workshop at IveyHacks with Lenz Paul
links to all western google developer student club social medias:

linktr.ee/uwogdsc

Top comments (0)