DEV Community

Cover image for Introducing: Hot Potato πŸ₯”πŸ”₯ for Todoist
Robin
Robin

Posted on

Introducing: Hot Potato πŸ₯”πŸ”₯ for Todoist

I made a small thing this weekend. I use it myself and I was curious if others might be interested as well.

Introducing: Hot Potato πŸ₯”πŸ”₯ (working title, lol)

Summary: Automatically prioritize slacking tasks in Todoist. Link: https://hotpotato.cattlea.com (open to product/domain name suggestions if this thing gets used by more people).

Visit the site, click "Connect with Todoist". That's the gist of it for now! Hot Potato now monitors changeing tasks and checks if the due date is delayed. If it is, it automatically one-ups the priority of that task.

This way, slacking tasks that get pushed forward automatically become more visible.

Your task becomes a "Hot Potato"; the more it slacks, the hotter it gets.

--

Disclaimer / FAQ;

  • There might sometimes be a slight delay between updating the task and chaning the priority. This is because it's listening for webhook events from Todoist which aren't always instantaneous.

  • This is very much a hobby/beta project. Things can change and things can break. Use at your own risk.

  • When you click the "Delete my account" button in the account section, you're entirely removed from the app, so you can stop using it at any time.

  • I slapped this thing together in a couple of days even though I only used tools I never used before: NextJS 13, React, Vercel hosting and the PlanetScale serverless MySQL database.

Please feel free to share all the feedback you have. I'm open to (feature) suggestions!

Leave a comment down below or @_its_robin on Twitter and Dev.to

Top comments (0)