DEV Community

Abdullah Al Mamun Fahim
Abdullah Al Mamun Fahim

Posted on

Hacktoberfest week 1

So first week of hacktober was last week. My first hacktoberfest and I'm not gonna lie. I'm mostly nervous. Although the concept of contributing to open-source project is exciting, having 4 weeks to make 4 open-source contribution with increasing difficulty kinda intimidating.

First set was finding the first (easy) issue. And not going to sugarcoat it, this was the hardest part compared to my first PR. Took a LOT of browsing to find the issue. Since most of the issues are not exactly part of open-source projects (from the looks of it, they seem like the repo and issues were made just for the hacktoberfest) and the rest have like 3/4 different people wanting to work on it WTIH PR open. Pretty competitive. After browsing I found the first issue the repo is relatively old and the issues had the correct tag and it was in JS. And the changes needed are just simple git actions version update. After expressing my interest to work on the issues I went to work which not very long. After getting the issue assigned I made a PR and after some waiting it was merged.

I'd say week 1 was success. But for the upcoming weeks, I have a feeling the hardest part is going to be finding legit issues to work.

Top comments (0)