DEV Community

Alice Boyd-Leslie
Alice Boyd-Leslie

Posted on

We can do it!

I began to code because...

honestly... I needed a new job. I was working at a cafe for 4 years and was not enjoying it. I found out about Codebar, a weekly workshop helping underrepresented people in tech to learn how to code. I fell in love with the web instantly, in under a year I got my first developer role and I am not planning on going back ever!

I recently overcame...

SVG animations! I made the thing move! YES. I really love animating things and want to progress in that area further.

I want to brag about...

Myself and codebar. I know that bragging about yourself is sometimes frowned upon but I am proud of myself! Finding something that I love and something that I am good at, getting a developer job in under a year from now knowing anything I am extremely proud of.
Codebar is something else I would like to brag about. It is such a fantastic organisation that has helped so many people get jobs. Going from a student > coach > organiser has been an amazing experience and seeing students learn more and develop along the way is so rewarding.

My advice for allies to support women who code is....

hire more! Do and not just say. Be supportive and contribute to organisations such as codebar.

Top comments (0)