DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

Geodesic shapes

Dear Alan Turing, I am very sorry to not live up to your expectations, you once predicted we would need a great number of disciplined mathematicians.

I can barely spell mathematician, let alone do math. Fortunately I often say, to be a programmer, you don't need the answer, just the right question.

None the less, I'm interested in making procedurally generated planets, to achieve this, we need a sphere, a sphere with equally distributed points in 3D space.
As it turns out, nobody has actually solved the problem, there are PhD students working on the problem, that fills me with hope, if they can't quite do it, than maybe I can't either. It's got to be good enough.

So let's see, there are a few methods I could approach this. A rip off somebody else's code (tempting!). Ideally I should learn though. Maybe il write a crappy prototype in JavaScript.

Now what.. I guess I need a lot more points, oh boy do I need a lot more points. The problem is my "algorithm" doesn't actually scale, at all. I need an algorithm that can draw an n sided shape and that's where the dumbness kicks in.

How?

What is the relationship between a hexagon and an octogon?

Anyways take care everyone.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Wow, Ask a small question, get the theory of everything. Thank you for giving a name to a thing. Quasicrystals.
Crystalline structure are so important in life!

Collapse
 
manishfoodtechs profile image
manish srivastava

I need an algorithm that can draw an n sided shape and that's where the dumbness kicks in. :)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Everyone has this problem haha

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

So cryptic. I'm intrigued.