DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on

It's a bit like BEM

https://ecss.io/

I am a bit of a cult follower of the CSS style guide Enduring CSS or ECSS, it's not new I think it's quite old now. It's like BEM but I find it's guidelines to lend better to JavaScript rendered apps with components far more easily, and when you really read the docs, there are still some interesting takeaways, stuff like using aria as a styling state mechanic.

If you go to IKEA's website, the kings of flat pack and modular, not only will you find one of the best bits of useable UX and UI, you will probably be inspired too, but what's under the hood that's more to the point of this post. The CSS, just look at it, what the heck is it? πŸ‘½ Well that's what I thought when I was snooping and shopping about a year ago. Turns out friends, it's a modified version of ECSS.

I have been using ECSS in all my personal projects and BEM at work, I'm not going to sit here and tell you X is better than Y but more, just take it for a spin. I have really enjoyed working with it. Coming up with 3 letter namespaces for my components and using that to tie together related but seperate components has been fun. cart becomes crt and although cart button and cart link are different components, you can in 3 letters find all the cart related stuff.

Anyway I want to do a practical post, if you are interested, comment down below and I will write something about it in the context of a modern application.

Top comments (0)