DEV Community

Cover image for Rocks - Simple turret AI
Adam K Dean
Adam K Dean

Posted on

Rocks - Simple turret AI

So I've been playing with Unity the last couple of days, and I quite like it. I'm not much of a fan of the scene editor, or any of the GUI stuff, but I've been playing with MattRix's Futile framework and being able to do everything from a code-first perspective is awesome.

Naturally, I decided to make a simple game simulation, for science. What's simpler than a turret AI that shoots at rocks in space?

Rocks, just a preview

It actually works quite well. I think I had 200,000 asteroids floating around at one point with minimal lag.

The thing I like about using Unity, and Futile too, is that I don't have to spend all my time working on the boilerplate code. I can just jump right in and get started on my game. I can see results quicker, and that's what I like, results.

For now, I'm either going to think of a simple game and finish the damn thing, or get on with those upgrades for this site. Hard decision.

The source code for "Rocks" is available here on GitHub and the demo can be found here..

Top comments (0)