DEV Community

Adrián J. Díaz G.
Adrián J. Díaz G.

Posted on • Updated on

I got my first job during Quarantine

Hi folks, this is my first post, I been thinking of writing this article for the past three days, about how I got my first job as a Frontend Developer and immediately had to work remotely.

The interview

2020 was going to be my year, I was about to do my last semester, and getting a Frontend Developer role was my main goal, I was working hard for it and applying actively to job postings.

So, one day I was lucky enough to be called for an internship, It was a small company, with a friendly team, they asked me if I had experience with Angular, I told him I had none, but I little of Vue.js, which I was learning since three weeks ago XD; but I was determined to enter and not afraid to learn something new. So, he gave me a design which I had to code to and a couple of days, so I work hard to send it two days before than expected, just to show off, you know, and It worked.

Time to work

As I enter, my first assignment was to translate my coworker design to a web page, using Angular, yep I just had a couple of days reading the docs and now had to apply then to a real-life project. I admitted It wasn't easy, I spend the first two days in a loop of, reading, writing, and correcting; thankfully I knew how to use Git. It took me a week to finish the web app, and ensure everything was in place.

after that first project, I felt confident and excited to be early every day at work, but sometimes unexpected things happen; after three weeks at work, our boss told us that we were going to work remotely because of COVID-19, I knew the situation was difficult, but the first thing that comes to my mind was, wow I was just getting used to the office and now I will work remote, this is going to be challenging, and damn I was right.

The Office outside the office

home-office

During my first week working from home, I learn that I wasn't as great as it seems on tv, you must learn to organize your time if you want to survive, these are some of the things that happened to me:

  • Seems I just finish my career I still live with my family, and sometimes they interrupted me during my job.
  • I worked till late at night, then I was sleepy the next morning.
  • Finding a space to be productive is difficult, and not having it affects your workflow.
  • Sometimes I forgot to open Slack or my assignments, so I had to get used to not having anyone telling me what to do.

However, I know that I'm lucky, many people are unemployed right now, and who knows when life will go back to normal, but at least I'm still working and with my family, and that's all I need.

I hope you are ok, as well.

Top comments (0)