DEV Community

Cover image for Do Java Code Streams Exist?
Adron Hall
Adron Hall

Posted on

Do Java Code Streams Exist?

Recently while doing some coding on Twitch I was posed a question, "Are there any people streaming Java?"

It's an interesting question, as I've seen a lot of people streaming a lot of languages. The bulk of streamers seem to be streaming JavaScript and the related frameworks and tools like React, Node.js, Vue.js, and others. I've also seen a lot of people using Python, and a few doing things like Rust, C++, and a few others but barely anybody using Java.

With that stated, I'd love to find others writing Java apps on Twitch. Anybody have some pointers to anybody? Who do you , if you do, watch on Twitch?

For JavaScript, Go, Python, Terraform, and more infrastructure, web dev, and coding in general I stream regularly on Twitch at https://twitch.tv/adronhall, post the VOD's to YouTube along with entirely new tech and metal content at https://youtube.com/c/ThrashingCode.

For more blogging, I've got https://compositecode.blog and the Thrashing Code Newsletter, sign up for it here!

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
argherna profile image
Andy Gherna

Maybe I'll start one. Check out my Dotfiles repository. I like to make single file applications with NO EXTERNAL DEPENDENCIES that can be run from the command line. How do I get started with a stream?

Collapse
 
adron profile image
Adron Hall

I've made some videos for getting started here > youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4f75Y6...

It's a playlist of videos with introductions to OBS (the streaming software) and Twitch. Some of it is a little old, but shows most of the important elements around getting started.

Additionally I've also created a repo of streaming tips, hardware lists, tricks, twitch culture, several checklists, and other details about streaming here > github.com/Adron/VidStreamHacking

Collapse
 
mabla0531 profile image
Matthew Bland

There's likely about to be one. I've been thinking of streaming and considered c++ but I'm more versed in Java and there's not a high supply of them so I'll probably try to fill the spot

Collapse
 
adron profile image
Adron Hall

That'd be most excellent. I'd like to have more people in my queue that dig into the Java things. πŸ‘πŸ»

When you start, let me know and I'll be sure to give you a shout out or three via the Twitters and such! Feel free to reach out for any ideas too. πŸ‘πŸ»

Collapse
 
mabla0531 profile image
Matthew Bland

I'll definitely keep that in mind!