DEV Community

Cover image for Goroutines and sync.WaitGroup in Golang
Ajisafe Oluwapelumi
Ajisafe Oluwapelumi

Posted on

Goroutines and sync.WaitGroup in Golang

Creating a booking app with Golang has been a thrilling experience, filled with challenges and chances to learn. I came across something interesting while working on managing Goroutines using sync.WaitGroup. It reminded me of the asynchronous and await functionality in Node.js, providing a strong way to handle multiple tasks at the same time in Golang. However, when I initially tried to add sync.WaitGroup to my code, I encountered an unexpected error, I found out that it was crucial to create an instance of sync.WaitGroup for it to work smoothly.

The Importance of Goroutines

Goroutines are a key feature in Golang that allow functions to run concurrently. They are lightweight, making them great for handling many tasks simultaneously without affecting performance. To make Goroutines even more efficient, I explored using sync.WaitGroup.

Understanding Sync.WaitGroup

In Golang, sync.WaitGroup is designed to coordinate Goroutines. It keeps track of the number of active Goroutines, making it useful in situations where you want to make sure all concurrent tasks are completed before moving on.

The Learning Experience

While trying to add sync.WaitGroup to my booking app, I faced an error that made me realize that creating an instance of sync.WaitGroup is necessary before using its methods. The three main methods - Add(), Wait(), and Done() - are crucial for synchronization. If we try to call sync.WaitGroup.Add(1), the Go compiler will give an error because Add is not a function of the sync.WaitGroup type that can be called directly. It's a method that needs an instance of sync.WaitGroup to be called upon.

package main

import (
    "fmt"
    "sync"
)

func main() {
    // Create an instance of sync.WaitGroup
    var wg sync.WaitGroup

    // Example Goroutine
    wg.Add(1)
    go func() {
        // Your concurrent task logic here
        fmt.Println("Hello World!")
        wg.Done()
    }()

    // Wait for all Goroutines to finish
    wg.Wait()
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

By creating an instance of sync.WaitGroup and using its methods in the right context, I seamlessly integrated it into my booking app. This ensured smooth coordination between Goroutines.

If you have any stories about using sync.WaitGroup, feel free to share them in the comments below. I would love to hear about your experiences!

Top comments (0)