DEV Community

Akashdeep Singh
Akashdeep Singh

Posted on

Why do developers use what they use?

I've been studying adoption of development frameworks, platforms, languages, standards, tools, and techniques and I wonder what are the factors that drive the popularity of certain technologies over others. I'd love to hear from the dev community. Looking forward to your comments!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes • Edited

Lately tools come to me, I don't go to them

For example: I learned the basics of React components this week to work with Preact on something that was already using Preact. I'm not raving about either, but will I self combust if I keep at it? I doubt it :) Did I learn something valuable? In the grand scheme of things probably, but in the context of the job definitely.

There are limits obviously, I don't go look for jobs with technologies I'm completely uninterested in (not naming names to avoid flames :D), the same way.

I'd say that the "choice" is a combination of preferences, pragmatism, other people's choices, popularity, bias and responsibility.