DEV Community

Hakeem Buchanan
Hakeem Buchanan

Posted on

Working From Home as an intern

I recently was able to work from home for the first time.

Needless to say it was a terrifying experience.

I thought I was being watched from every web-enabled device in my home, the entire team monitoring to see if the intern was slacking off. It was almost like a scene from 1984 but instead of Big Brother it was my senior devs.

It was a 90% irrational fear I soon realized, since most of them were busy repeatedly banging their heads on a wall for their own projects.

To any other interns out there too afraid of being reprimanded for peeing too slow while working from home, you're fine. Maybe someone is watching from your webcam but it's definitely not your senior dev.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
jgrahamuk profile image
Joshua Graham

I had a good chuckle at this. We run a fully remote team. 10 years ago when I started I felt exactly the same! Luckily, webcams weren’t attached to absolutely everything back then.

When we hire folks now, I try to help them understand what we need. It’s generally a lot less about sitting at your desk constantly and more about getting things done.

A remote team has to be focused on results, not hours or minutes spent on task. Definitely not about pee breaks. 😁 The benefit is autonomy for you. The downside of that autonomy is responsibility. You’re responsible for getting stuff done.

Collapse
 
davidmm1707 profile image
David MMπŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»

How did you get your first job as an intern developer?

And how do you know your senior dev is not watching you?

Collapse
 
akeemandsaltfish profile image
Hakeem Buchanan

I applied on their website. Went through an interview and everything.

And I don’t know anything for sure lol. It just seems like they have much bigger fish to fry.