DEV Community

Ahmad Akkilah
Ahmad Akkilah

Posted on

Exploring the Advantages and Challenges of Linux: A Personal Reflection

Firstly, I would like to clarify that this piece is not an attempt to persuade you to switch to Linux. Rather, it is a personal reflection where I aim to explore the advantages and disadvantages of using Linux, evaluate my own experiences, and determine whether it is worthwhile for me to continue down this path or consider other options moving forward.

I have intermittently used Linux for a significant period, both for personal experimentation and as a server or personal desktop. However, I have often questioned whether my attraction to Linux is simply due to my inclination towards tinkering, or if there are indeed tangible benefits to using it.

I must admit that my journey with Linux has been challenging, as it is not the most user-friendly operating system out there. However, I can confidently say that the difficulties I faced have taught me a great deal. Every obstacle I encountered provided a unique opportunity for me to learn and deepen my understanding of how operating systems work. I am certain that if I had stuck with Windows, I would not have had the chance to acquire the same level of knowledge and experience that I have gained through my use of Linux.

On the other hand, I must also acknowledge that Linux has posed challenges for me in professional settings. There have been instances where I needed to complete tasks for my boss, only to be faced with a seemingly insurmountable hurdle that left me feeling frustrated and embarrassed. However, with time, these challenges have become easier to overcome. That said, if it were not for my supportive teammates, I would likely have given up on the idea of making Linux my daily driver at work.

As such, I am currently evaluating whether or not Linux provides sufficient value for my needs, and identifying cases where other operating systems may be a more optimal choice. Ultimately, the decision of when to use Linux versus other options is dependent on individual preferences and circumstances. For instance, if one works in a field such as graphic design, professional editing, or gaming, it may be more practical to use Windows instead of Linux, as the latter may not yet be suitable for these types of applications.

The first question that I need to address is the motivation behind my use of Linux. Am I using it solely for personal reasons, to appear "cool," or to improve my job performance? Or, am I using it due to the benefits of security, open-source options, and customization? Alternatively, is it a combination of these factors? These are important questions to consider, as I find myself questioning the reasoning behind my use of Linux.

When I find myself in a dilemma, I often try to establish a set of rules to clarify my decision-making process. This approach helps me address most of my problems systematically. In the case of software decisions,

  1. I tend to favor simplicity over complexity.
  2. I also consider the reputation of the software's creators and their respect for their users. For instance, I avoid using Macs due to Their disrespect to the user
  3. I prefer using free software that offers paid support, such as pfSense and Red Hat.
  4. I prefer open-source software but remain open to using closed-source software if it offers better features or functionality.

While I still appreciate Linux and wish to continue using it, I'm looking for a different approach from my previous experience. Currently, I'm using Ubuntu as my main driver , but I'm exploring new ways to utilize Linux to address my requirements. Rather than simply replacing Windows, I want to use Linux to enhance my organizational abilities, maintain a record of my activities, and automate my tasks. I aspire to build Linux the way Arch users do, starting with Debian as it's better suited for professional work and Im not concern with cutting edge . Then, I can tailor the OS to my preferences. By documenting my installations and automating tasks whenever feasible, I believe the benefits of using Linux outweigh the challenges or learning curve.

However, if the approach I mentioned doesn't suit your needs, using Mint as a drop-in replacement for Windows might be a good option. it will reduce you barrier to entry, give your customization options, eliminates the need to relearn the system every few years and prevents unnecessary bloat on your system.

Linux users must understand that most Linux distributions are similar, with different themes and some technical differences in packages and software. For new users, it's important to know that transitioning from one distribution to another, such as from Ubuntu to Mint or PopOS, can be relatively easy. While there may be some differences in customization and ease of use with certain distributions, most packages can be installed, uninstalled, or configured across different distributions. Ubuntu, for example, has a lot of customization made by the company and it has its twist, but it is still possible to achieve similar configurations with other distributions.

If you have issues with proprietary software, tracking, or the fact that Windows changes the way things are done without reason every few years, then switching to Linux with Mint or Ubuntu might be a better option for you. Linux distributions are known for being more customizable and transparent, with many free and open-source software options available. Additionally, Linux is generally considered more secure and private than Windows, with less tracking of user data.

Additionally, I strongly believe in avoiding bloated software and valuing simplicity. I find that simplicity not only makes things easier to use but also provides a better understanding of what's happening on my system. By avoiding unnecessary software and keeping things streamlined, I can better manage and maintain my system.

So I guess my conclusion is that I will still use Linux, but the Arch way. This means a non-bloated system, deleting unnecessary components, and trying to build automation to see how things will work, insha'Allah.

Top comments (0)