DEV Community

Cover image for Hacking away this Hacktoberfest as a noob
Ayush Kumar Shaw
Ayush Kumar Shaw

Posted on

Hacking away this Hacktoberfest as a noob

What Did Hacktoberfest Have In Store For Me

This was my very first hacktoberfest. Heck, this was my very first time knocking on the doors of open source, not knowing that it'll welcome me in such an outstanding fashion, so much so that I couldn't have picked a better time to explore OSS. What's the more of a better time than the month long celebration of open source, Hacktoberfest, to join the open source community.

It's been not even 3 weeks since I've got to know the traditional workflows behind Git and GitHub and how to align oneself alongside the SOP of a project/repository hosted on GitHub. Understanding these fundamentals are really important to make a mark on open source and for growing one's developer profile through it, for it's the best way to grow one's developer profile, through open source, cause it's real work, contributions that make a difference. Moreover, it also puts a smile on one's face when she sees herself in the contributors list. I sure smiled when I saw myself there for the first time.

Alt Text

The moment I truly scratched the surface of open source, the first thought that scratched my mind was that why didn't I started doing this the moment I learned to code. I think that should be one's way to truly learn and master software development. One, learn coding, and once you're comfortable in at least a single programming language, you should start diving into OSS and pave your path. Don't get overwhelmed, I know you probably would, I know I was though. You'll have the community behind you, guiding you the right way. Well, you'll have to put in the work, that's true, but if you ask the right questions, you're way better off! Remember, "Don't ask to ask." Moreover, it doesn't necessarily have to be code. Contributions can be anything, as long as it falls on the improving side of things.

Nevertheless, I'm just starting out. Let's see what more does this journey of mine, which is just getting started, brings!!

Top comments (0)