DEV Community

Cover image for 11 reasons why I love working from home
Albino Tonnina
Albino Tonnina

Posted on

11 reasons why I love working from home

Here they are:

I can concentrate. To perform at best, I need to get into the Zone. In an office I don't get into the Zone as much as I'd need to. I'd also need to see my colleagues from time to time because well, they are people I share a lot of time with. Let's meet regularly in the office to catch-up and socialize a bit?

I can communicate better. This may not apply to many. I am a non-native English speaker. Reading comments is easier to me. In online meetings I can concentrate on the voice of the speaker. I can even turn on live captions on some video conference services.

Waking up is not stressful anymore. I'm not a morning person, I do best later in the day, that's when the magic happen for me. My morning routine went from a 12 step process to a 3 steps process, wake up, prepare both mentally and phisically, work. I don't miss the lost extra steps, one of which is:

Commuting. Some of you are happy to, I don't know, take a bike a cycle to work. Personally I see commuting as a daily loss of 2 very precious hours stuck in a too-full-to-be true set of n trains. With those two hours I now can:

Do extra work if I want to. I don't need to rush it, I don't need to prepare to leave the office. I can finish the bits I want to finish for the day, peacefully. Or...

Spend more time with my family. Play with my baby, watch her growing right in front of my eyes. See, on a daily basis, if I haven't been on 3 trains to rush home, I'm more calm, and more grateful, and more happy to help at home. Help my baby, help my wife. Or sometimes, I could even

Relax. Yes, play a game, indulge in my hobbies some more. Or even better, go outside for a walk, maybe with the rest of family. Go for an ice cream with the

Money I saved. Cooking is cheaper than eating out, right? I'm also quite certain it's healthier. So I'm calmer, I can focus more and I eat better, I can now spend some money and time to

Fix my house! At 6 in the evening I'm not too tired to hang a picture or swap furniture around to see how it looks like. I can take 20 from work and go mount that new towel hanger in the bathroom I've been planning to fix for months. I would catch-up with work later! Or, instead of fixing something, one day I may need to

Take a nap mid day. Uhhh. Some days it's 3 o'clock in the afternoon and my eyelids start getting heavier and heavier. In the office I usually soldier on, I try as much as I can to stay vigil. Well, I think nobody now will be hurt if I take a 30 min nap in my bedroom instad. A power nap, the ones that make you feel better after you had one. All of this really contributes to my

Mental Health. So I don't see a reason why I should not be doing this in the foreseeable future. Leave comments about your experience if you want.

Hello!
My name is Albino Tonnina, I'm an italian web engineer in London.

Cover image uncarefully screenshotted from my website: https://www.albinotonnina.com

Top comments (0)