If you build Shopify apps, the Built for Shopify badge is a status you may be working toward, and one your users use to shortlist apps. This write-up goes through what the published criteria certify (speed limits and a traction floor), how the badge affects App Store search ranking, and what it leaves out. The original has an interactive verdict table; here it is a plain table.
Everything below was read on Shopify's own pages on September 12, 2026 unless a different date is given.
The quick verdict
Use the badge to shorten a list, not to make the final call. Shopify's help page for merchants describes badged apps as tested for performance, design and integration. For an app that renders on a storefront, the badge shows it reduced the storefront Lighthouse score by no more than 10 points in Shopify's own before-and-after test, so measuring your own store before and after installing still applies.
An app can't qualify until it has 50 net installs from active paid-plan stores and five reviews, and badged apps rank higher in App Store search, so a top result is partly the badge's effect. Fit, pricing and support stay your checks, because none of the Shopify pages on the badge that were read on September 12, 2026 promises them.
| Situation | Answer | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Two apps do the job equally well, and only one carries the badge | Take the badged one | Shopify's merchant help page describes badged apps as tested for performance, design and integration |
| The app adds something to the storefront, such as a widget or a popup | Weigh the badge, then measure | The badge shows the app met the 10-point storefront Lighthouse limit in Shopify's own test; your own before-and-after check shows what it does to your store |
| The app that does the job best has no badge | Keep it on the list | An app can't qualify before it has 50 net installs from active paid-plan stores and five reviews |
| Picking from the top of App Store search | Don't treat rank as proof | Shopify's documentation says badged apps appear higher in search rankings |
| You need to know about fit, price or support | Check those yourself | Neither Shopify's merchant help page nor its developer overview, read September 12, 2026, promises any of the three |
What the badge certifies
It certifies that an app passed Shopify's own testing for performance, design and integration, according to Shopify's help page for merchants. Shopify calls the underlying status the highest level of recognition an app can reach. On September 12, 2026, the App Store listed 1,654 badged apps, a live count, not a fixed figure.
Built for Shopify is a status Shopify grants to apps in its App Store, and the badge is how that status shows up to merchants. In the Built for Shopify documentation, Shopify writes:
Built for Shopify status is the highest level of recognition and achievement that an app can reach.
For merchants, Shopify's Help Center section on the Built for Shopify badge describes badged apps as having passed its testing across three areas: performance, design and integration. The badge appears on an app's card wherever that card shows up in the App Store, and search and category pages carry a Built for Shopify filter that narrows the results to badged apps.
How common is the badge? On September 12, 2026, Shopify's Built for Shopify collection listed 1,654 apps. That is a live count, not a fixed figure, and the page does not state how many apps the App Store holds in total, so it cannot tell you what share of apps carry the badge. Neither the requirements page nor Shopify's Partners update publishes that share.
For a sense of what badged listings look like, the Judge.me and StoreSEO listings both showed the badge when checked on September 13, 2026. That is a dated snapshot of two listings, not a recommendation and not a complete list.
What an app has to pass to earn the badge
An app earns the badge by meeting Shopify's published requirements. Shopify publishes the bar on its Built for Shopify requirements page, and two groups of criteria on it are worth pulling apart: traction and speed.
Can a new app carry the badge?
Only once it clears the traction floor. To qualify, an app needs:
- At least 50 net installs, counted only from active shops on paid plans.
- At least five reviews.
- A minimum recent rating in the Shopify App Store. The requirement exists, but none of the three sources checked (the requirements page, the shopify.dev overview and the Help Center section on the badge) gives the number behind it.
That makes the badge partly a signal of traction, not only of quality. However carefully a team builds an app, it cannot carry the badge until it clears those counts.
What the speed thresholds actually measure
For the status, an app that touches the storefront must not lower its Lighthouse score by more than 10 points in Shopify's own before-and-after test. The LCP, CLS and INP limits of 2.5 seconds, 0.1 and 200 milliseconds measure the app's own admin screens, and shipping-rate apps must answer within 500 ms at p95.
| Threshold | Limit | What it measures | Applies to apps that |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) | 2.5 seconds or less | Loading speed of the app's own pages inside the Shopify admin | Run inside the Shopify admin |
| Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) | 0.1 or less | Visual stability of the app's admin pages | Run inside the Shopify admin |
| Interaction to Next Paint (INP) | 200 milliseconds or less | Responsiveness of the app's admin pages | Run inside the Shopify admin |
| Storefront Lighthouse performance score | Reduced by no more than 10 points | The app's effect on the storefront Lighthouse score in Shopify's before-and-after test of home, product and collection pages | Touch the storefront |
| Carrier rate requests | p95 of 500 ms or less, with a 0.1% failure rate | How fast and how reliably the app answers shipping-rate requests at checkout | Provide carrier shipping rates |
Limits and their scope were read on the Built for Shopify requirements page (sections 2.1 to 2.3) on September 12, 2026; the home, product and collection test method comes from Shopify's storefront performance guide on shopify.dev. Each limit is a condition an app must meet for the status.
Three of the five limits measure the app's own screens inside the Shopify admin. They speak to the tool a merchant's team works in, not to what shoppers see. The other two rows reach shoppers. The storefront row is a ceiling on damage rather than a promise of speed: Shopify measures it as a weighted average of home, product and collection page Lighthouse scores before and after the app is installed. The carrier-rate row sits under checkout performance in the requirements. Because each limit covers a different kind of app, the badge should weigh differently by app:
- For a reviews widget, a popup or anything else that renders on a storefront, the storefront row is the one that applies, and the badge confirms the app met it in Shopify's own test.
- For a tool that lives only in the admin, the badge speaks to the merchant team's experience more than to customers'.
- For an app that provides carrier shipping rates, the request row is the one that applies.
Can an app lose the badge?
Yes. As of September 2026, Shopify's developer documentation says badged apps are reviewed annually against the Built for Shopify standards, and an app can lose the status after it is granted if it fails to meet certain criteria on an ongoing basis. It states that "Apps are reviewed annually to ensure they continue to adhere to the Built for Shopify standards." A badge is a status an app keeps by continuing to qualify, not a medal it earned once.
The standard itself also moves. Shopify has changed what the badge requires more than once since it launched:
- Jul 26, 2023: badges arrive in the App Store. Shopify's changelog introduced the badge with one line of meaning: "This badge means that an app has met our high standards for quality and performance."
- Dec 11, 2024: new design requirements added. Shopify added new design requirements to the requirements page, including that an app's UI "should demonstrate a good faith effort to leverage common UX best practices and meet a high bar for design quality." Apps needed to meet that requirement starting in January 2025.
- Aug 1, 2026: updated requirements for fulfillment services apps. Shopify updated three requirements for fulfillment services apps: the required completion rate for assigned fulfillment orders, the response window and response rate for fulfillment requests, and the response window for cancellation requests. Apps in other categories aren't affected, and the entry does not state the new figures.
In practice, check the badge on the live App Store listing on the day you install, not in a roundup or a screenshot from last year.
Do badged apps rank higher in App Store search?
Yes. Shopify's developer documentation says Built for Shopify apps appear higher in App Store search rankings, above other boosted apps, and that the boost isn't exclusive to them. In Shopify's words:
Built for Shopify apps appear higher in Shopify App Store search rankings.
The same documentation page adds that Built for Shopify apps are ranked higher than other apps with search ranking boosts, and that a search ranking boost isn't exclusive to Built for Shopify apps. The ranking lift is not the only placement the status brings. Shopify names these surfaces for badged apps:
- Additional promotion in the App Store, and eligibility for promotion on what Shopify calls other key merchant surfaces.
- Recommendations in the App Store homepage header, according to a Shopify Partners blog update on Built for Shopify read in September 2026.
- Priority placement in Recommended for you sections across category pages, according to the same update.
The same update tells developers that badged apps see "an average increase of 49% new installs in just 14 days of achieving status", which is Shopify's own average across apps, addressed to developers, not a forecast for any single app and not a measure of quality.
Search order is not independent evidence. A badged app sits near the top partly because it is badged, and its install count can climb partly because of that placement. An unbadged app near the top may hold a search ranking boost from another Shopify achievement. The badge filter shortens a list; the choice still rests on what the badge does not measure.
What the badge doesn't tell you
Nothing in Shopify's merchant help page, developer overview or blog post on Built for Shopify, read September 12, 2026, promises that a badged app fits a given store, is priced well for it or keeps good support. Shopify's help page names merchant reviews as one of the best ways to judge fit.
| Question | What the badge tells you | Where to look instead |
|---|---|---|
| Will it slow the storefront? | If the app touches the storefront: it met the 10-point Lighthouse limit in Shopify's before-and-after test of home, product and collection pages | Your own before-and-after measurement, badge or not |
| Is the app established? | At least 50 net installs from active shops on paid plans, and at least five reviews | Recent reviews, for how the app behaves now |
| Does it do the exact job? | Nothing found in the Built for Shopify pages read | Reviews from merchants whose stores look like yours |
| What will it really cost? | That features gated by a plan must be disabled and clearly indicated in the app | The app's own pricing terms, before installing |
| Will support hold up? | Nothing on the pages read; status is reviewed annually | Recent reviews and how problems in them were handled |
| What store data can it read? | Not covered by the criteria in this article | Whether the badge means an app is safe with customer data |
A cell that reports nothing found on the pages read records an absence in that reading, not a rule Shopify publishes.
For the question the badge cannot settle, whether the app does a particular job, Shopify itself points elsewhere. From its Help Center:
Reviews from other merchants are one of the best ways to evaluate if an app is right for your business.
Reviews are the start of the check, not the whole of it. The check for evaluating an app before you install it covers the permissions an app asks for, its pricing model, support signals and the cost of leaving.
What was looked for and not found, all read on September 12, 2026:
- The number behind the minimum recent rating: not found on the Built for Shopify requirements page, the Built for Shopify overview on shopify.dev, or the Help Center section on the Built for Shopify badge.
- A promise that the badge means fit for a store, fair pricing or long-term support: not found in that Help Center section, the shopify.dev overview, or Shopify's blog post on Built for Shopify apps. The blog post does say the badge "guarantees that an app has been built to Shopify's highest standards" and names value alongside speed, security and usability, but it promises a standard, not a fit, a price or support.
- An official share of App Store apps carrying the badge: not found on the requirements page, the Shopify Partners update on Built for Shopify, or the App Store's Built for Shopify collection.
If Shopify publishes any of these, the absence is what changes.
When an app without the badge is the right pick
Pick an unbadged app when it does the job better, including when it lacks the installs and reviews the traction floor asks for. A missing badge does not say why it is missing. An app can be missing the badge for any of these reasons, and the first two say nothing about the app's quality at all:
- It has not applied. The status is something a developer applies for.
- It has not reached the traction floor. Without 50 net installs from active paid-plan shops and five reviews, it cannot qualify.
- It is waiting out a suspension. Shopify's developer documentation says an application that fails the same criterion three times in a row is suspended, and the developer cannot apply again for three months.
- It lost the status. An app that stops meeting certain criteria on an ongoing basis can lose a badge it was granted.
Familiar names can lack the badge too: when checked on September 12, 2026, the Klaviyo and TikTok App Store listings showed no Built for Shopify badge. No conclusion is drawn about why.
A missing badge does not mean a missing speed limit. Shopify's performance guide for app developers says an app published in the Shopify App Store "must not" reduce storefront Lighthouse performance scores by more than 10 points, Shopify's App Store best practices say an app "shouldn't", and the Built for Shopify requirements list the same ten-point limit as a must-not criterion. What the badge adds is confirmation that the app met the criteria Shopify evaluates for the status, including this limit for an app that affects the storefront directly, which Shopify checks with a before-and-after Lighthouse test. Run the same kind of check on your own storefront, before you install and again after.
The bottom line
Use the Built for Shopify badge to shorten your list, not to make the final call. It shows an app met Shopify's performance, design and integration bar, including, for storefront apps, the ten-point Lighthouse limit in Shopify's test, and it lifts the app in App Store search. Fit, price and support stay your checks.
Filter for the badge, then decide on fit. Among apps that do the job equally well, take the badged one. When the app that does the job best has no badge, don't discard it: read its recent reviews, check its pricing terms, and measure the storefront before and after installing it.
Frequently asked questions
What does the Built for Shopify badge mean?
It means the app holds Built for Shopify status, which Shopify's developer documentation calls the highest level of recognition an app can reach. Shopify's help page for merchants describes badged apps as tested for performance, design and integration. It is a quality bar with a traction floor attached, not a ranking of which app fits a store best.
How does an app get Built for Shopify status?
A developer applies, and the app must meet Shopify's published requirements. Those include at least 50 net installs from active shops on paid plans, at least five reviews, a minimum recent rating, and speed limits for its admin screens, its storefront impact and, for shipping-rate apps, its rate requests. Apps that hold the status are reviewed annually.
Do Built for Shopify apps rank higher in the App Store?
Yes. Shopify's developer documentation states that Built for Shopify apps appear higher in App Store search rankings and receive additional promotion, and a Shopify Partners update read in September 2026 extends their recommendations to the App Store homepage header and to Recommended for you sections. A badged app's high search position is partly the badge's own effect, not independent proof of fit.
Can an app lose its Built for Shopify badge?
Yes. As of September 2026, Shopify's developer documentation says apps with the status are reviewed annually, and an app can lose the status after it is granted if it fails to meet certain criteria on an ongoing basis. The requirements also change over time, so check the badge on the live App Store listing on the day you install.
What is the minimum rating for Built for Shopify?
The requirements say an app must meet a minimum recent app rating threshold in the Shopify App Store, but none of the three pages checked on September 12, 2026 publishes the number: the requirements page, Shopify's Built for Shopify overview and its Help Center section on the badge. Treat any specific star figure quoted elsewhere as unconfirmed by those pages.
How many apps have the Built for Shopify badge?
On September 12, 2026, the App Store's Built for Shopify collection listed 1,654 apps. That is a live count rather than a fixed figure, and the page does not show how many apps the App Store holds in total, so it gives no share. That page, the requirements page and Shopify's Partners update were read that day, and none of them publishes an official share.
Will a Built for Shopify app slow down my store?
For an app that touches the storefront, the requirements say it must not reduce the storefront Lighthouse performance score by more than ten points; Shopify's storefront performance guide describes a before-and-after test of home, product and collection pages. The badge's LCP, CLS and INP limits cover the app's admin screens instead. Measure your own storefront before and after installing, badge or not.
Should I avoid Shopify apps without the badge?
No. A missing badge can mean the developer has not applied, the app does not yet have 50 net installs from active paid-plan shops and five reviews, or it failed the same criterion three times in a row, which bars reapplying for three months. Klaviyo's and TikTok's listings showed no badge on September 12, 2026. Judge unbadged apps on fit and reviews.
How do I find Built for Shopify apps in the App Store?
Look for the Built for Shopify badge, which appears on an app's card wherever that card shows up in the App Store. On search and category pages, Shopify's Help Center says you can use the Built for Shopify filter option to display only certified apps. Then read merchant reviews, which Shopify calls one of the best ways to judge fit.
Does the Built for Shopify badge guarantee good support or fair pricing?
No page checked on September 12, 2026 promises either: not Shopify's Help Center section on the badge, its Built for Shopify overview, or its blog post, which says the badge "guarantees that an app has been built to Shopify's highest standards" and lists value with speed, security and usability, promising no price. The published criteria cover performance, design, integration and traction, so check pricing terms and recent reviews yourself.
What do the LCP, CLS and INP limits in Built for Shopify measure?
They measure the app's own pages inside the Shopify admin: Largest Contentful Paint of 2.5 seconds or less, Cumulative Layout Shift of 0.1 or less, and Interaction to Next Paint of 200 milliseconds or less. They speak to how the tool performs for a merchant's team, not to the storefront; apps that touch the storefront face a separate ten-point Lighthouse criterion.
When did the Built for Shopify badge start?
Shopify's changelog introduced Built for Shopify badges in the App Store in a post dated July 26, 2023, describing the badge as meaning an app has met Shopify's high standards for quality and performance. Since then, Shopify added design requirements in December 2024, some required from January 2025, and a changelog entry dated August 1, 2026 updated three requirements for fulfillment services apps.
Originally published at shopify.ecom-store.pro.
Disclosure: this article is AI-generated.
Top comments (0)