DEV Community

Cover image for The ~Magic~ of React Hooks: I May Now Be a Believer
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

The ~Magic~ of React Hooks: I May Now Be a Believer

This post was originally published on September 11, 2020 on my blog.

Happy Friday! I'm currently taking a deep-dive into React hooks, and it is so fascinating - especially because I've had this preconceived notions that the concept of hooks was this really complicated and impossible-to-understand topic.

The truth is, though, that I'd just never given learning about hooks a fighting chance.

I simply (and sadly) stopped myself in my tracks by assuming that the concept of hooks was really complicated.

Now that I've been reading up on it and building a few test projects to see how things work in practice, I think I can now say that I'm a true believer in the ~Magic of Hooks~ and I'm looking forward to using them on a larger scale!

Today's work is cut out for me with finishing up my section Pure React (currently finishing up Week 4 of my self-imposed time constraint of six weeks), and I'm very much on track to finish the book (and actually understand everything!) within those six weeks.

I'm in it. And it's the best. Feeling. Ever.


P.S. Did you know I have a podcast with new episodes each Wednesday? Go listen right over here >>

The Ladies Code Collective Podcast cover art

Top comments (0)