DEV Community

Cover image for The Power of Being a Self-Starter
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

The Power of Being a Self-Starter

This post was originally published on July 15, 2020 on my blog.

I love the idea of being a self-starter because you don't necessarily need any prerequisites or advanced degrees to be one.

Really, all you need is the decision that you're going to start something or embark on an interesting project and then begin to put one foot in front of the other as you make your way toward whatever it is you're working toward.

I'm on such a Hamilton kick ever since I watched it the other weekend and, yes, I admit I've been listening to some of the songs on repeat since then.

To connect that back to this post's point, I absolutely love this line from the very first song of the musical ('Alexander Hamilton') -

[Alexander Hamilton] got a lot farther
by working a lot harder
by being a lot smarter
by being a self-starter

How to be a self-starter? Hard work and consistent effort toward your goal. Rinse and repeat with getting yourself started on really whatever you want to do in your one precious life.


Thanks so much for reading along! Now let's be friends over on Twitter >>

P.S. I've launched a brand-new podcast with new episodes each Wednesday! Stay up to date by signing up for the newsletter here >>

The Ladies Code Collective Podcast art

Top comments (0)