DEV Community

Alexander Samaniego
Alexander Samaniego

Posted on

DPS909 Blog: Issue Progression

This post is an update on my progress on the issues I selected to work on in my previous post for Release 0.4.

Progress

I began my work on issue #201. I was initially confused by the the description of the feature to be implemented, so I asked the project maintainer to explain it further. Another project contributor also further explained what was needed and this really helped me out. I also read up further on the Astro framework to understand how the project is put together. I started with the documentation explaining how Astro components work and read on from there.

After reading through the Astro documentation and going through the project documentation again, I experimented with the source code for a while just to see how I would implement the requested feature. The most difficult part about this was just trying to figure out how all the files work together. There are a lot of files in this project and it's easy to get lost. By the end, I felt like I knew the ins and outs of the entire project, so I began to code the feature into my forked version of the project.

By the end of the week, I opened a pull request (PR) with my feature implementation. I described what changes/additions I made and noted areas that require focus after the PR is merged.

The project maintainer and one other reviewer made comments on my PR which I ended up addressing and making the requested changes. Now I am just waiting for any further comments and for the PR to be merged.

Remaining Issues

Now that I've nearly solved one issue, issue #211 seems like it'll be a smoother process since it is relates to the same area of the project and I've already went through most of the documentation. So my plan for the coming week is to hopefully open a PR quicker than I did for the first issue. If no problems occur and I still have time before the deadline, I will attempt to solve another issue in the project.

Top comments (0)