DEV Community

Alexander Samaniego
Alexander Samaniego

Posted on

DPS909 Blog: Planning Issues to Fix

As part of the final Release 0.4 project for our open-source course, we were asked to work on something larger and more impactful than anything we've done in the previous three releases. This can either be implementing features, fix a difficult bug, work on 2 or more smaller but related issues, or work on a bug in a large open-source community.

I chose to work on 2 or more smaller but related issues. The issues I chose were from a project that I've previously worked on called Astro Reactive Library. This project builds components and architecture for other projects that use the Astro framework for their reactive user interfaces.

The issues I chose to work on both relate to the form and validator components.

Issues: #201, #211,...TBD

Issue #201

The feature request here is related to the form component. In this issue is to implement new event listeners for other types of events. Currently, the validator will only attach an event listener for onBlur. There needs to be more event listeners and a way to determine when the event for validation on the client will occur.

Issue #211

The feature request is related to the validator and the form. In this issue, the way the validator attaches to components must be changed. Currently, the element selector uses the component <form> as a selector. The job here is to change it to use the unique ID attached to components as the selector.

My Goals

My goals for this Release is to take my basic understanding of the Astro framework and hopefully turn it into an advanced understanding by solving these issues and implementing the features correctly.

As of right now, these issues seem a bit confusing to me so there will be a lot of learning involved which will take a bit of time. Release 0.3 introduced me to the Astro framework and so my understanding of Astro is still pretty basic. This will be the challenge I will have to overcome.

If by the end I find that these issues were quick to solve, there are more issues in the project repo that relates to the same area of the project. I will tackle some more just to give me more of a challenge.

I will post an update on my progress and mention if I encounter any difficulties or if the issues are easier than I thought it would be.

Top comments (0)