DEV Community

Cover image for Detect the Emotion Behind Your Emails - MailMood
Alice
Alice

Posted on

Detect the Emotion Behind Your Emails - MailMood

What I Built and Why

The application fetches and analyzes emails, providing users with insights into the emotional tone of their messages. The goal is to enhance communication by helping users understand the sentiment behind their emails, whether it's positive, neutral, or negative. This tool is particularly useful for those who want to be more mindful of the emotions conveyed in their correspondence.

Demo

Code

https://github.com/Alicezdev/MailMood

Your Journey

Stepping into UI Development
As a back-end developer, this was my first experience creating a user interface. Tackling HTML, CSS, and JavaScript for the first time was a challenge, but it was an exciting opportunity to expand my skill set.
I integrated the Nylas API to fetch and analyze emails, allowing users to receive emotional feedback on their messages. Nylas streamlined the process, letting me focus on refining the UI and user experience.

First Challenge Participation
This project marked my debut in a development challenge. The competitive environment and tight deadlines pushed me to work efficiently, and the commitment to daily progress kept me motivated.

Key Learnings
I learned the value of stepping out of my comfort zone, mastering front-end basics, and effectively managing time during a challenge. API integration became another area of growth, enhancing my overall development skills.

Top comments (0)