DEV Community

Alin Pisica
Alin Pisica

Posted on

Why changing my job changed my perspective

The further you get away from yourself, the more challenging it is. Not to be in your comfort zone is great fun. - Benedict Cumberbatch

The beginning

Everything started 2 years ago, when I left my freelancing passion and moved to a normal developer position in a small company. Everything worked fine, I was a little bit familiar with the technology stack, but there were still a lot of things to learn. As said, it was done. Months passed by and everything became so easy that I was thinking "Wow, I am so good at this."
Oh... I was so wrong! I was thinking that I am good because I kept working on the same project for a long period of time, doing a lot of refactoring and repetitive task and not so much thinking before coding.

This gave me a lot of confidence, I knew how everything should be done, each new feature would be just a small change in the whole project so it wouldn't affect me a lot. Every day I was more and more efficient, everything was easier from time to time... or at least this is how it seemed.

And so a new adventure begins

Then, an opportunity came. A remote job, still a flexible program (being a 2nd year in university had a lot of influence on my working schedule). With this being said, so it started. A new job, a new adventure, I was thinking I am good at what I am doing then... one week in and I was "Where am I? Why I don't know how to do this, even though I have worked with this stack?". And so the questioning started. I was so wrong in so many ways that I didn't know where to start. Am I dumb? Everything I have learned is useless? Is this something that I will never be able to do it? Is this the end of my career, even though I am only 20?

The answer was no. It was a little bit harder than expected, but after 3 months here I already can say that my evolution has went from ground-bottom to the sky faster than expected. For now, I came with a conclusion that I would highly tell to anyone else that I meet: you still young? Change jobs, seek adventures, try something new. You will never know everything and this is the time to find everything you don't and fix it!.

Step out of your comfort zone. Do it and do it often. Seek discomfort, try something new, do something that you haven't done before, try to bring some new things into your life.

If you wanna do it, you gotta do it right
Let's get to it, gotta fight the fight
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbanrxTqlEY

Top comments (0)