DEV Community

Cover image for What is zoom in Web Design? A funny story.
Alish Giri
Alish Giri

Posted on • Updated on

What is zoom in Web Design? A funny story.

Almost every software engineer comes across a time where they start designing. And when you are designing your own product you want to make sure that it is close to perfection!

But something terrible happened which made me realize the importance of setting browser's zoom to 100% when designing on web lol.

Since I have a habit of zooming out of most of my frequently visited websites so that everything on the screen looks tiny, I accidently designed my website in 85% zoom in Safari and made a huge blunder by killing UX as the elements and images were too huge on my client's laptops. 🀯

And yeah I discovered this after 4 months of development.

I also came across an interesting fact that it is better to design in the 'em' unit in CSS but since I was using TailwindCSS I just needed to adjust the styling of my entire website which took me two entire days. But it was a good encounter. I love it when new things pop up and makes you more experienced that ever.

Cheers guys, have a great day! πŸš€

Top comments (0)