DEV Community

alokkumarsbg
alokkumarsbg

Posted on

Talking bot "You have got a Ticket"

I being a Support Engineer, one of the tough jobs is to regularly monitor the Case or Ticket tool for new case or Ticket.

What if you have a bot saying "Hey Man you have got a new ticket".

How exciting and relaxing will be! I am really excited about that. This saves me a lot of time from the boring and irritating job of Queue Monitor for the Ticket.

Today I will take you the Journey how I got this done. Though I won't share any code here, Company Policy. But I will share what I have used to build this bot.

I have implemented this bot on the Service Now Ticket Management Tool. I have built this using the Python Language easiest programming language for a Support Engineer.

I have used two Python Packages for this.

  1. Selenium: One of the Most used Automation package available in Different Languages.
  2. Pyttsx3: Text to Speech Package for your bot to Talk.

Selenium being an Automation Tool, it can also be used to scrap a website. Basically, I have scrapped the Service Now WebPage using the Selenium to read tables which have new Ticket Details.
I have used chrome driver to open a web page in chrome browser. Others Driver is also available for different browser. One of the other common is for Firefox "GeckoDriver"

So if you are a support engineer go and try this. Make your life easier and your Manager happy.
Because many think "Support Engineers are not meant for Coding"

Top comments (0)