DEV Community

Alula TYC
Alula TYC

Posted on

Why can't I finish a course I start.

Give me more digital junk

I have started much more courses on Edx, Coursera, YouTube, Udemy, etc than I have finished. In fact, I forget that I was taking a particular course until I get notifications on my email. Sometimes, I just download a number of free eBooks and PDFs. I subscribe to countless newsletters that I could not read. I want more and more. I consume a lot and I still feel like I have to consume even more. Why? Maybe FOMO.

So I wonder what is wrong with me? Why can't I finish a course I start? I could just say that I am not concentrated or disciplined enough. But what are the odds of me becoming focused when living with AI built to make me want more insatiably?

I would say very low.

What choice do I have but to be scattered when every account I follow on Twitter is trying to sell me stuff and make me believe that I lack something unless I consume their digital junk. Every corner of the internet, I am being followed and sold. Google relentlessly follows me around and encourages me to move my hosting to the new shiny provider that is paying them well. YouTube algorithm pushes content that thrives on my insecurities. How can I become focused in this world?

And Instagram and Facebook world is completely different hell.

You can't be focused when you live with AI.

The internet, apps, and all our digital experience are made to manipulate us into believing that we need more. To make us believe that we lack something. So it is time to adjust our life to be aware of our new frienemy. The AI that surrounds us.

The algorithms these platforms are written can benefit us but only if we know-how. Right now the algorithm knows much more about us than us about it. And the algorithm works for the corporations that own it. The algorithm is not made to help you focus on your reading but to nudge you to click on the next article.

Living with an Algorithm

In short, the algorithm thrives in making you believe that you lack something and that you need something. Every day it is getting smarter in making you believe this cardinal truth about yourself. And the worst part is it is true. We lack something. There is always a void in me and in most humans. That is the driving force that makes us try things. But if we believe it too much we become like a monkey who wants to try everything. That is where our capability to control ourselves comes in. Right now I have lost that capability.

So to live with AI, I have to teach myself these five truths every day.

1. Less is more.

Focusing on one project is better than ten projects. Completing one course is better than subscribing to ten at once. Solving one problem is better than learning about a bunch of them at once.

2. Creation is better than consumption.

Writing one line of code, blog, etc is better than following a YouTubers who make an awesome app, website, game. Every day, spend more time creating than consuming.

3. Gradual change.

Trusting in the process and gradual change. My desire to change and become better may not be answered immediately. It might take time, which I am willing to be patient.

4. Easy is not always better.

The new easy configurable JS library is not necessarily better than the old reliable one.

5. Change comes from within.

The next online instructor or JS library might be way better. But at the end of the day, no change is possible without me. Change comes from within.

These will be my five truths to live with AI. Hope whoever reads this article would consider them too.

Top comments (0)