DEV Community

Cover image for Reflections on GNOME .Asia Summit 2022
Aman Kumar
Aman Kumar

Posted on

Reflections on GNOME .Asia Summit 2022

Recently, I got an opportunity to attend GNOME Asia Summit 2022 held in Kuala Lumpur. And it was an experience that I'll never forget.

It was my first time attending an in-person conference. I was not quite nervous and unsure of what to expect. However, from the moment I arrived at the conference, I was immediately struck by the welcoming and inclusive atmosphere.

GNOME swags

The major highlights of the conference were the diverse range of presentations and workshops. There were talks on a wide range of topics, from the technical aspects of GNOME development to getting started with Open Source Development. The speakers were experts in their respective fields, and their presentations were engaging and informative.

Sammy Fung Presentation

I also got an opportunity to meet and connect with other members of the GNOME community. I had the chance to chat with developers, designers, and advocates from different parts of the globe, and it was fascinating to hear about the different ways in which they are using and contributing to GNOME. Along with that, I also got to meet my fellow GSoCers/ friends at the event, and they made the event even more fun.

GNOME .Asia GSoC Group

On the final day of the conference, I got an opportunity to give a presentation on the topic "Reworking Sync Options". You can learn more about the topic here.

Aman Kumar Presentation

In addition to attending the conference, I also had the opportunity to explore the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur. With its bustling streets, colorful markets, and delicious food, Kuala Lumpur was a feast for the senses. I especially enjoyed visiting the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and KL Tower and taking a stroll through the city. Overall, I had a wonderful time exploring Kuala Lumpur and I can't wait to visit again someday.

Petronas Towers

Kuala Lumpur city

I'd like to end the note by thanking the GNOME Organization for sponsoring my visit and allowing me to attend such a wonderful conference, and I hope to meet all these amazing people soon again.

Top comments (0)