DEV Community

Cover image for Stream Heroku logs to AWS Cloudwatch using an EC2 instance and Docker
amlan
amlan

Posted on

Stream Heroku logs to AWS Cloudwatch using an EC2 instance and Docker

I am pretty sure we all have one or more apps deployed on Heroku. It is one of the most popular platform to deploy apps encompassing various technologies. I use Heroku to deploy many of my side projects as it has a generous free tier. But one thing I always struggled in Heroku was to manage the logs. I agree it is easy to get the logs on Heroku CLI with just one command but I wanted a more automated a stable solution to track the Heroku logs.
I really like how AWS enables tracking application logs in Cloudwatch Logs. Its easy to setup and we can setup multiple actions on the logs like setup alerts, prepare reports from the log data and on and on. AWS Cloudwatch is a vast solution and I cant fit its all features in one post. So I will just go through some overview.

So to have a better tracking of the Heroku logs, I went ahead and integrated the Heroku logs to Cloudwatch where I can perform further analysis on the log data. In this post I will be explaining how to achieve the same and stream any Heroku app logs to an AWS Cloudwatch log stream. Hope this will be useful for your Heroku deployments. This can also be used in any enterprise scenario where any application is deployed on Heroku.

For more details: https://amlanscloud.com/herokulogsaws/

Top comments (0)