DEV Community

Cover image for Game Baking: A One-Game-A-Month Extravaganza!
Andrew-David J.
Andrew-David J.

Posted on

Game Baking: A One-Game-A-Month Extravaganza!

Hey all!

For 2021, I've decided to take on the one-game-a-month challenge.

"1GAM" is a self-imposed challenge where I have to develop a brand new game every month. And in order to help me achieve that goal each month, I've decided to use random game jams as catalysts. These game jams offer different themes, restrictions, and timelines each month, which motivate me and help me come up with creative new ideas.

And, in order to keep myself accountable, I've decided to also document each month's game in the form of a video devlog on my YouTube channel. I've branded the devlog series "Game Baking with Andrew-David"!

I've produced three videos so far. The first is an introductory episode:

And the other two are the first two months' episodes:

The three games I've created so far are available to play for free on itch.io and consist of:

If you would like to participate in the 1GAM challenge as well, you're welcome to do so alongside me on Discord! The next game jam I'm participating in is Ludum Dare 48 on April 23rd, 2021.

And finally, if you like the series and would like to follow along, subscribe to the channel and feel free to support me on Patreon!

Stay tuned for more!

Top comments (0)