DEV Community

Andrew Byrne
Andrew Byrne

Posted on

Hi, I'm Andrew

Hi everyone!

It is great to be joining this exciting, vibrant community. Software Development has been a passion of mine for a very long time. My motto of #AlwaysBeShipping is my way of reminding myself that I grow when I contribute and that I shouldn't fear shipping/contributing.

You can find me on Twitter as @AndrewJByrne

My work at Microsoft brought me and my family to Redmond over a decade ago and I'm happy to call the Pacific Northwest home. I've been in the Software Engineering discipline most of my life. I've been very fortunate at Microsoft to work on multiple products and wear many hats as a dev, dev lead, dev manager. I currently work as a Senior Content Developer creating MOOCS in the Applied Technology/Computer Science space.

Prior to joining Microsoft I worked for SIEMENS, Ericsson, a financial services company and I even ran my own startup for three years.

C#/.NET are my go-to skills. Since we live in a connected, cross-platform, world I'm always trying to learn something new - Xamarin, Swift and iOS development appeal to me right now and I'm still looking for the right way to introduce programming to my young children so they, too, can be practical devs :-)

Keep Smiling!

Andrew

Disclaimer - I want to participate in your community as Andrew Byrne, the individual. It is important to let you know who pays my bills, but please know that any opinions I express here are, and will continue to be, mine and not those of my employer.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko πŸ‘©πŸΎβ€πŸ’»

Hi Andrew, welcomeπŸ‘‹πŸΎ!! I'm also very interested in exploring ways to encourage young coders. Looking forward to reading what you'll contribute to the community:).