DEV Community

Angela Bassa
Angela Bassa

Posted on

Nevertheless, Angela Bassa Coded

I began coding because...

I was always a tinkerer and coding was a logical next step after all sorts of fun analog contraptions I built in our backyard growing up. Coding was natural, like a second language that allowed me to play with our computer on a different level--more meaningful and "real." Then I just never could (or wanted to) stop.

I'm currently hacking on...

A bunch of Raspberry Pis, Arduinos, and robot parts I have at home. It is such ridiculous fun to see a machine do what you wanted it to do!

I'm excited about...

The future. Even though things are scary right now, with so much uncertainty around so many facets of our lives, I'm excited for all the progress we're making along many fronts. I'm obviously biased, but data science is such a great area of activity and discoveries right now.

My advice for other women who code is...

Find good role models, good champions, and good communities. Like many other disciplines/professions, it's so much easier to not go it alone. We've all been there, we've all felt unsure and not-good-enough. That can be a natural part of learning, and if you find a good group of people who will help you up--rather than make you feel inadequate or less-than--you really can do anything!

Top comments (0)